Local News

AKSARBEN Announces Award Recipients

AKSARBEN Foundation announces 136 honorees from 59 Nebraska counties for the 2015 Heritage and Pioneer Farm Awards.

From Thayer County, the Paul and JoAnn Row Trust, of Bruning, as well as Steven and Beverly Harms, of Davenport, were awarded.

In order to qualify for Heritage Farm distinction, members of the same family must have owned a piece of land consecutively for 150 years; while Pioneer Farm recognizes families that have owned a piece of land consecutively for over 100 years.

Since their inception, the Heritage and Pioneer Farm Awards have been granted to over 8,500 families from the state of Nebraska. These awards are presented in partnership with the Nebraska Farm Bureau and Nebraska Fair Managers Association.

According to Kevin Kock, AKSARBEN executive director of agricultural initiatives, “These families have a long-standing dedication to agriculture and we want to honor their commitment to Nebraska.”

Award recipients will receive one engraved plaque and a gatepost marker on behalf of AKSARBEN Foundation. These awards are presented during the annual county fair in which the land is located.

Leave a Reply