Local News

Thayer Central Yearkbook Wins Award

The Thayer Central Torch 2014 Yearbook won the Cornhusker Award for Class D from the Nebraska High School Press Association. Cornhuskers are awarded to the best overall yearbooks in a class.  This is the first year for Thayer Central to win. The team also received a Golden Kernel for Excellent Coverage.

A big change the team made was a switch from an online program made by Walsworth to an industry-standard InDesign.

“It opens up a new level of creativity for my kids this year,” said Stephanie Lanik, the yearbook advisor. “I anticipate the book will be even better because of it.”

This is Lanik’s first year at Thayer Central and her third year as a yearbook teacher. Each of those years, her yearbook teams have won Cornhusker Awards.

“My focus last year with my staff was to simplify the book: use clean design, write focused copy, and get back down to journalism basics,” said Stephanie Lanik, the yearbook advisor.”They worked extremely hard and absorbed a lot of new information. I am proud of their enthusiasm and efforts and this Cornhusker is well-deserved.  We will use the feedback from our judges to make this year’s book even better!”

Other honors from last May at the NSAA State Champion included first place in Yearbook Theme Development for Bryanna Dudgeon, Haley Huhman and McCall Madsen; third place in News/Feature Photography for Huhman; first place in Yearbook Layout for Dudgeon.

Members include Abby Tipton, Bryanna Dudgeon (both graduated),  Haley Huhman, Cassie Beeman, Tiffany Walsh, Trinity Call, McCall Madsen, Cheyanna Tietjen, McKenna Tietjen and Brinley Linton.

Pictured: Advisor Mrs. Stephanie Lanik (l), Cassie Beeman, Tiffany Walsh, Bryanna Dudgeon, Haley Huhman, and McCall Madsen.  Not pictured: Abby Tipton and Trinity Call.

Leave a Reply